jump to navigation

Oatmeal #107: Mystery [sort of] revealed September 14, 2008

Posted by oatmeal in Breakfast, Lunch.
Tags: , ,
trackback

Roar–I give up:

oatmeal-13_08 (1)

DID. NOT. WORK.

Goodness–I hope this isn’t indicative of how chem labs would go for me this year…

I was closer to the desired effect, but not close enough! I don’t understand–I heated the water just like the instructions said…

Anyway, here’s what the “mystery ingredient” is:

almond-sep14_08

And the white stuff in the picture is what my attempts are supposed to look like–pudding, not slush!

I don’t understand šŸ˜¦

Maybe ’cause I added heated water but it wasn’t boiling?!

oatmeal-13_08

But whatevz, at least it tastes good–very almond-y, a little too sweet though–should add more water or oats next time.

Basically:

  • 0.25 cup oats
  • 0.5 cup water
  • walnuts, flax, Kellogg’s Just Right cereal
  • 1 banana
  • 2 tsp almond pudding powder

If you’re curious, the almond pudding stuff’s in a lot of asian grocery stores–best dessert/snack ever!

Lunch:

lunch-sep13_08

Snapped this picture at the caf ’cause I arrived early enough for it to not be awkward šŸ˜›

Check it–greek yogurt! I haven’t had it in AGES and I love that the caf serves it [although not all the time–dammit!] I had 2 bowls of this ’cause it’s AWESOME. To top off this awesomeness: fruit salad! Granted, the fruits are the canned, syrupy variety, but this is probably the closest I’ll get to having pineapples, papayas, and mangoes during the school year!

Anyway~thanks for all the input on the rec rowing on my last post! In the end I decided not to do it–too poor and not enough time šŸ˜¦ SADNESS. Oh well–I joined an anti-food-wasting group instead šŸ˜€ First meeting was this morning–was really nervous, but it actually went okay! Sweetness šŸ˜€

What kind of stuff are you guys involved with this year?

Comments»

1. VeggieGirl - September 14, 2008

Too bad about the experiment šŸ˜¦ But hey, you win some, you lose some, right?? No worries!! šŸ™‚

I’m sorry that you won’t be able to do rec rowing; but I’m glad that you WILL be able to be in the anti-food-wasting group!! Hooray!!

I’m a full-time dancer, so that’s what I’m involved in for the most part; and I’m also planning on doing some volunteering at the animal shelter.

2. magpie - September 14, 2008

Keep trying, I’m sure you can get it right!

I’m not in college anymore, but this year I’m singing in 2 choirs and I’m going to be taking a night class on nutrition that starts in a week. I’m really excited for it.

http://healthyums.blogspot.com

3. wholefoodswholeme - September 14, 2008

are they like white blocks, kind between jelly and tofu in texture (ok that sounds gross but it’s not!!) ?? if it is then i know what you’re talking about – but if not, still sounds really yummy and exciting! don’t give up!

4. Maria - September 14, 2008

wow…i wish that had turned out good šŸ˜¦ as for clubs, i’m in the SCUBA diving club!!! – very cool…it’s always scary to first try a club – especially if u don’t know people, but that’s how you make friends…especially in college where your friends don’t necessarily have the same classes…good job on joining something though!

5. oatmeal - September 14, 2008

VeggieGirl
Exactly! šŸ˜€
Ooo dancing! Must be fun–I wish I could be a dancer, but I’m too clumsy! What kind of dancing do you do?

magpie
Choir! I love choir–it is possibly the best extra-curricular activity I’ve ever partaken in! What part do you sing?

wholefoodswholeme
YES that’s what I’m talking about! I believe people actually call it almond tofu ’cause that’s what it looks like?

Maria
Wow you’re brave! I’m scared enough to go under water as it is, let alone THAT! Hope that goes well!
And yes, quite true–one of the things I like about college–so many opportunities to meet new people!

6. Megan - September 14, 2008

Sorry it didn’t work out, but it sure looks yummy! What a great idea!

7. eatingbender - September 15, 2008

Sorry the experiment didn’t work out quite the way you wanted, BUT in my opinion, as long as it tastes good – you’re set šŸ™‚

I’m glad you found a group to get involved with! I hope you enjoy it. I’ll probably be doing a lot of work at my campus TV news station, as always…but this year I took a step back and now my life won’t be consumed by it, which is a GOOD thing since I used to spend 12 hour days in a windowless studio!

8. Kristie - September 15, 2008

Too bad about the failed experiment but at least it TASTED good, which is the most important thing šŸ™‚

Sorry to hear that you didn’t join the rowing, but an anti-food-wasting club?! That’s even BETTER. That sounds like your absolute perfect club haha. I wish we had a group like that.


Leave a Reply

