jump to navigation

Oatmeal #108: Sesame September 15, 2008

Posted by oatmeal in Breakfast, Dinner, Snack.
Tags: , ,
trackback

Yesterday’s breakfast:

oatmeal-sep14_08 (1)

Contents:

  • oats, flax, walnuts
  • water, milk
  • 1 apple
  • 1 tsp coconut
  • 2 tsp black sesame paste powder

I got the instant kind…but I think what the paste actually is, is just ground sesame + water + sugar–very thick and awesome! Just two tsp in the oats gave me plenty of flavor–although the sweetness wasn’t noticeable, the apples took care of that problem, so it wasn’t a big deal!

 oatmeal-sep14_08

You can’t see it in this picture, but the oats were kinda gray-ish ’cause of the hue of the sesame–it sounds gross, but as you can see from the picture, it’s not gray enough to actually be gross! :mrgreen: 

Post-run snack:

snack-sep14_08

The gym doesn’t open til 9 a.m.  on weekends! How frustrating. So I went out for a run instead 😀

Anyway, in clockwise direction started from top left: mocha [nestle hot chocolate mix + instant columbian coffee + milk], fruit salad from the caf [I ate half the container before I snapped the pic 😛 I wanted to save it for the oatmeal–but I was too hungry!], and almond crackers.

Dinner:

dinner-sep14_08

To the left: PB&J sandwich with cucumber and spinach. [there’s PB on the outside of the top piece of bread ’cause I spread the jam on the wrong side of the bread!]

To the right: entree Greek salad I bought from the university center tuck shop. That was the first time I’ve ever tried feta cheese–not much flavor! I was disappointed. But the salad filled me up, so that was quite good 😀

Got my stats class in an hour, and then my day is over and I can have dinner! Yay 😀

Comments»

1. VeggieGirl - September 15, 2008

Sesame paste powder, eh?? Intrigiung!!

Good luck with stats class!

2. Megan - September 15, 2008

Interesting idea. Sounds yummy. Have you ever used poppy seeds?

3. eatingbender - September 15, 2008

Sesame paste powder – will the creativity ever end with you, Carmen? I don’t think so!

Sorry you weren’t a huge fan of the feta — I’ll agree there isn’t much flavor…but it’s amazing on a pizza!

4. Kristie - September 15, 2008

Hahah, you never fail to surprise me with your food combinations. Such as the pb&j + cuc and spinach. I can actually imagine that being good! You get the fresh veggie crunch AND the lovely sweetness of the standard comfort sandwich.

And greek salad! My fav! I can’t believe that was your first time trying FETA. Crazy. I’m sad you didn’t like it though! BUT I find there are huge variations in the taste of different kinds of fetas out there. I’m not a fan at ALL of a lot of cheaper fetas because they are really bland. Don’t rule it out though, try to get ahold of some creamy greek feta. There are some AMAZING ones out there.


Leave a Reply

