jump to navigation

Oatmeal #112: Earl Grey September 22, 2008

Posted by oatmeal in Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch.
Tags: , ,
trackback

This week’s theme is tea!

Saturday’s breakfast:

oatmeal-sep20_08

Earl Grey = best tea ever.

I haven’t tried a lot of different types since I’m not a tea person, but I really like Earl Grey! It’s probably the only type of tea I can drink by itself, because it’s so flavorful that nothing else is required!

oatmeal-sep20_08 (1)

  • oats, flax, walnuts
  • peaches
  • 1.5 tsp sesame paste powder
  • 1 cup Earl Grey
  • 0.25 cup milk

Yumfulness! The sesame was added for fun 😀

I find that cooking oats with tea instead of with water gives it an awesome aftertaste! It also smells a lot more exciting :mrgreen:

I think with my relatively limited resources and access to the grocery stores, I might start doing weekly themes instead of trying completely new combos everyday–I need to save brain space for classes!

Lunch at the caf:

lunch-sep20_08

Buttermilk pancake – the smallest thing ever, but SO GOOD. I break it up into pieces and eat it with the yogurt, cottage cheese, cereal, mandarin oranges, and PB–heaven!

My completely huge dinner:

dinner-sep20_08

clockwise from top left corner: macaroni salad with chickpeas, celery, red peppers, huge bowl of spinach, whole wheat english muffin with baba ghanoush [!!], cucumbers, and more spinach.

Doesn’t look like a lot–but I actually went back for another bowlful of spinach and some honeydew melons!

Oh, and I didn’t eat both english mufins–the one at the bottom was meant to be saved for another meal–but then I realized it was moldy and had to throw it out 😦

Seconds:

 dinner-sep20_08 (1)

Turkey noodle soup with my third bowl of spinach–I think I might have eaten too much by this point ’cause I felt like I was exploding 😛

Speaking of cafeterias–the anti-food-wasting group I’m in is conducting some sort of pledge signing today in an effort to get people to pledge that they’ll stop wasting caf food! I think we’re going to try and get weekly stats so we can track our progress–but I hope the turnout is good ’cause otherwise I’d feel stupid sitting in the middle of the caf with an empty sheet of paper in front of me 😛

Comments»

1. Megan - September 22, 2008

I have several teas I think would be good in oatmeal. You have probably already tried Chai. Celestial Seasonings English toffee would be good and their Christmas gingerbread flavor would be yummy too! There are some pumpkin teas out there that might also be tasty!

2. wholefoodswholeme - September 22, 2008

that pancake looks goooood. i’ve never tried tea-flavoured oats – but i love tea flavoured cookies 😀 have you ever tried matcha green tea oats?!!

3. Kristie - September 22, 2008

I love the idea of cooking oats with tea! I’m going to try that asap! I have soooo many teas in my cupboard.

I also love the idea of a theme every week. Can’t wait to see how you continue this tea one.

4. VeggieGirl - September 22, 2008

Love the Earl Grey tea oatmeal variety!!

Baba ghanoush = amazing spread.

Good luck with the turnout!

5. Shelby - September 22, 2008

You’ve got me hooked on tea in oatmeal! I try to use one everytime, my new favorite is Chai Tea…YUM!

6. Sagan - September 22, 2008

Great idea! Love tea.

7. Sarah - September 22, 2008

I’m gonna try oatmeal with Earl Grey tomorrow morning..I feel so British


Leave a Reply

