jump to navigation

Oatmeal #113: Chamomile September 23, 2008

Posted by oatmeal in Breakfast, Dinner, Recipes, Snack.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

Sunday:

DSCN6568

  • oats, flax, walnuts
  • 1 tbsp goji berries
  • 1 tsp unsweetened shredded coconut
  • 0.5 cup mandarin oranges
  • 1 cup chamomile tea
  • 0.25 cup milk

DSCN6557

I’ve tried chamomile tea once before–and found that it smelled great–like flowers–but didn’t really have much taste~therefore I also couldn’t pick out the flavor in my oats! Oh well~

 DSCN6572

I forgot to bring my water bottle when I headed over to the lab after lunch…so I tried something new:

tea-sep21_08

Has anyone else seen/tried this?

I think it’s a new product…Nestea Vitao. I got the Fuji apple green tea–great flavor! You can actually taste the tea and apples together, which is pretty cool, although I think it’s something you can easily make at home just by blending cold green tea with apple juice–I guess it’s convenient if you’re in a rush!

According to what I found out on google, some people seemed to have experienced some weird bout of hyperactive jitteriness after drinking this? I didn’t feel anything though, so it’s probably more an idiosyncratic thing than a general thing!

Dinner:

dinner-sep21_08

Pasta salad! I think I like pasta salads even more than regular pasta with sauce–’cause there’s usually too much sauce and not enough flavor.

Anyway, I found a new salad dressing combo that I really like! Here’s that I had:

  • 1 tsp extra virgin olive oil
  • 2 tsp lemon juice
  • 1 tbsp rice vinegar
  • 0.5 tsp oregano
  • 1 tsp parmesan cheese

It sounds like there’s too much acid, but there really isn’t! You get a great mild, lemony flavor and it’s rather awesome 😀 Definitely will be using this again in the future!

Comments»

1. Megan - September 23, 2008

Your oats look perfect with all that coconut crowning the top.

That new drink sounds good. I have never heard of it!

2. VeggieGirl - September 23, 2008

Looove all the tea varieties you’re experimenting with!

Never seen that drink before – intriguing!

3. Rose - September 23, 2008

Love the tea theme you’re working with this weak. There’s a YouTube video somewhere out there of Alton Brown making oatmeal via tea in a coffee pot found in a hotel. Have you seen that?

4. Shelby - September 23, 2008

Uhh! Why do you always have to tease me with your delicious oatmeal concoctions!! =)

5. Tina - September 23, 2008

If you like making your oats w/ tea you HAVE to do it a chai tea. This is my favorite way.

6. eatingbender - September 23, 2008

I love the tea theme, Carmen! I honestly think you are one of the most creative people I have ever “met” because you never cease to surprise me with your new creations!

I also think it’s a great idea to have a weekly theme format!

I think your anti-wasting food group sounds so cool. I really hope that you guys have success with your pledge!

7. Peter - September 24, 2008

Interesting blog and lots of fun. Thanks for sharring.

I’m trying to spread the word about my song, “Sometimes I Have Oatmeal for Breakfast.” After reading your blog, I think raisins, brownsugar, and nuts aren’t seeming so fancy, but maybe you’ll still enjoy the song? There’s a sample and MP3 at http://www.PeterApel.com. I hope it’s ok that I shared that info, and I hope you enjoy the song!

8. oatmeal - September 24, 2008

Rose
THERE IS??
That is too awesome–must find it!

Tina
That’s a great idea! I’ll be sure to keep this in mind the next time I go to the grocery store!

eatingbender
XD Thanks! Although I wish I had your photography skills!

Peter
Haha That song is AWESOME! XD Maybe I’ll play that song every time I eat breakfast from now on :mrgreen:


Leave a Reply

