jump to navigation

Oatmeal #115: Ginger Tea September 25, 2008

Posted by oatmeal in Breakfast.
Tags: , ,
trackback

Tuesday:

oatmeal-sep23_08

  • oats, flax, walnuts, Muslix cereal
  • water & milk
  • 1 cooked gala apple
  • 1 cup ginger tea
  • 0.5 tsp ground ginger & cinnamon

I cooked the apples this time I’ve always wanted to try it! Turns out I didn’t cook it enough, but I was too lazy to use the microwave 😛

 oatmeal-sep23_08 (1)

The tea’s not very gingery…adding ground ginger helped a little, but not very much! Maybe I’ll add another 0.25 tsp next time!

It’s a short post today ’cause I have a bio quiz and chem lab to prepare for!

But here’s a question: apples — cooked or raw [or some other form!] –which do you like best with oatmeal?

Comments»

1. VeggieGirl - September 25, 2008

Apples in my oatmeal = cooked.

2. Danielle - September 25, 2008

With oatmeal, apples are cooked. Soft, chewy, sweet, yum 🙂

3. Rose - September 25, 2008

I cook my apples with oatmeal also. I love green apples + oats.

4. Megan - September 25, 2008

I wonder if you use two tea bags or let the tea brew longer…maybe that would bring out the ginger taste more!

5. Josie - September 25, 2008

oatmeal is so yummy with diced cooked apples and cinnamon.
Good luck on your quiz and labs!

6. Shelby - September 25, 2008

cooked apples in my oatmeal are the BEST!

7. Kristie - September 25, 2008

I think cooked apples in oatmeal are best. I haven’t done this combo in a while though. Somehow I always manage to forget about it. Ridiculous considering we have SO many apples right now. Methinks it’s time for some apple-y oatmeal!

8. eatingbender - September 25, 2008

I’ve never actually put my own apples in oatmeal, but when I heated up instant oats they tasted good 🙂

9. Karah - September 26, 2008

Obviously cooked apples, but I find that apples are bitches when they go into oatmeal..hijacking the flavour instead of spreading it and all :/ bananas (especially mashed) work with everything. You don’t even need to slice them..what more can you ask for?

10. oatmeal - September 26, 2008

Wow–looks like a lot of you prefer cooked apples! Maybe I’ll give this another try later just to see what you guys are talking about!

Megan
Maybe that’s what I need to do! Will try that next time–thanks! 😀

Karah
Haha that’s true! Especially if you didn’t cut them into small enough pieces, maybe if you cooked the apples til you can mash them like bananas….?


Leave a Reply

