jump to navigation

Oatmeal #123: Pancakes, brought to you by the microwave October 3, 2008

Posted by oatmeal in Breakfast, Lunch, Oatmeal Challenge.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

Wednesday

Haven’t made these in a while! That’s ’cause I’ve been too lazy to watch the additional bowl that you need to mix the batter with πŸ˜›

  • 0.5 cup quick oats
  • 1 tbsp flax
  • max 0.25 cup milk
  • max 0.25 cup water
  • 1 plum
  • way more baking powder than was necessary [my hand slipped πŸ˜› ]

I let my batter sit overnight in the fridge–that’s why I added so much fluids–the flax and oats soak up liquids really well! I could have made scones from the batter :-p Anywhoo–this was heated in the microwave for…2 minutes? That seems to be the magic number!

And topped with a generous spoonful of peanut butter. I wanted to add it in the batter, but I was afraid that I wouldn’t be able to taste it, so I didn’t πŸ˜€

Lunch:

  • whole wheat pasta, green lentils, corn, red & green peppers, kidney beans, chickpeas, peas
  • seasoning: chili powder, pepper, EVOO, parmesan, lemon juice, rice vinegar
  • Paula apple, vanilla yogurt

I didn’t actually have time to eat the whole thing at once so it got split into two parts–with the apple as my snack!

Blog Announcement
My blog entries are going to be more sporadic from now on since orgo and genetics are killing me and with midterms coming up I don’t have time to come up with new concoctions as often!

I’ll still try and post whenever I can though! [Namely, when I’m procrastinating…so maybe my entries wouldn’t be that sporadic… πŸ˜› ]

Comments»

1. VeggieGirl - October 3, 2008

Oooh, pancakes!! πŸ™‚

No worries about the posting, Carmen!! Hang in there with midterms and everything!!

2. Megan - October 3, 2008

I love making pancakes in the microwave. Good luck with all your studies!

3. Erin - October 3, 2008

That’s a great recipe/method.

4. Sagan - October 3, 2008

Mmm pancakes.

And so little clean-up required!

5. wholefoodswholeme - October 3, 2008

pancake looks gooooood. good luck with all your studying!

6. Shelby - October 3, 2008

I love your oatmeal pancakes! I’ve had these many times when I’m in a pinch for time and they always turn out delish =)

7. Kristie - October 4, 2008

Posting is best when procrastinating πŸ˜‰
It’s darn hard to post with all the school work that gets in the way isn’t it. yeesh.

Good idea leaving the mix in the fridge overnight. I’ll have to try that!

8. eatingbender - October 4, 2008

Yum, I love that microwave pancake – I need to try that sometime!

I totally understand the sporadic post issue – school is killing me and I’ve only been in class for two weeks! I can only imagine what it’s like taking ORGO and GENETICS – you smarty pants! πŸ™‚

Procrastinating posts are the best. As is procrastinating via blog reading, which is what I’m doing right now!

9. Brain Games - October 21, 2008

Since child I am already a fan of pancake whether for breakfast of for snack. And recently I started eating oatmeal as a part of my diet since I have been working out for 3 months now. And your recipe is just perfect for me. I can’t wait to try it and see for myself if it will work for me.

Thanks for sharing this recipe.


Leave a Reply

