jump to navigation

Nutty Oats – Part II November 17, 2008

Posted by oatmeal in Breakfast, Dinner.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

Nov 14

  • walnuts, peanut butter, cocoa, flour, milk, flax, oats, microwave

Note: if you want ginormous pancakes–don’t use flour! And I only used 2 tbsp [and 0.25 + 2 tbsp oats], whereas if I used 2 tbsp of oats instead, I would have gotten more surface area and volume!

 

Nevertheless–still tasted good šŸ˜€ Also, I only added a tiny bit of water this time ’cause I wanted to use up all the milk before it expired–not sure it made any difference in terms of flavor though!

Dinner:

Pumpkernickel, turkey, eggs, tomatoes, kidney beans

On another exciting note–my res was on fire! Not the whole building [because in that case I would be crying, not blogging], but apparently the washing machine was what set the alarm off?! It would have more made sense if the dryer caught on fire…but anyway the fire happened ’cause someone overloaded the machine…I have no words.

And I settled myself for a third all-nighter yesterday night, but it didn’t happen because I have no willpower šŸ˜› So I guess I’ll be paying for it tonight!

Off to class~

Comments»

1. VeggieGirl - November 17, 2008

Scrumptious-looking experiment!!

YIKES, thank goodness you’re okay after the fire – so weird that the washing machine caused it!!

2. coco - November 17, 2008

I need to try your nutty oats soon. So, 2 tbsp of everything and microwave? for how long? do you soak it overnight?

3. Megan - November 17, 2008

What a yummy pancake! So glad the fire wasn’t any worse!

4. Sharon - November 17, 2008

Delicious eats, but oh wow – a fire from the washer!

5. oatmeal - November 17, 2008

coco
the recipes here: https://oatmealmix.wordpress.com/recipes/baked-yogurt-oatmeal-pancake/
but instead of flour, use oats, and you can use yofurt or milk or cottage cheese. I usually soak the thing overnight, but it’s not necessary šŸ™‚ And then microwave for 2 minutes!

6. Shelby - November 17, 2008

Mmm, I love your oatmeal pancake recipe!

7. Foodie (Fab and Delicious Food) - November 17, 2008

Yum, that looks good!

8. Wholesome Foodie - November 18, 2008

OOOOH I want to make that cookie! I definitely will once I get some nut butter and almond milk (out of both! lol)
You really inspired me to make one when you first posted it, especially because you can make it in a dorm stove (aka microwave, lol)
It’s kind of scary that your dorm was on fire! I would have freaked out. People always burn things in their microwaves here and it’s really annoying to evacuate your building at 2 in the morning and go outside, in the dead of winter, because someone couldn’t make popcorn correctly.
lol

9. oatmeal - November 18, 2008

Wholesome Foodie
Hahaha “dorm stove” is such a hilarious but AWESOME way to describe the microwave :mrgreen:
Yeah…at first I was kind of like “Oh someone pulled the alarm as a prank…” and then 4 fire trucks and a fire&rescue car showed up and I was like “Oh…crap” šŸ˜›
Being stuck outside on a winter night IS quite horrible! It’s kind of sad how people in college are so smart but they lack the smarts for such simple skills XD

10. 4streegrrl - November 18, 2008

You know, I’ve been wondering what kind of university you go to where the caf serves up such decent food! Student rez at UBC in the early 90’s served pretty grim food, especially for vegetarians like me. I won’t tell you what one of my fellow students found in *his* oatmeal one morning. :-p

I’ve been reading your blog/drooling over the oatmeal ideas for a couple of months now, and love it! Keep up the good work and study hard! šŸ™‚

11. oatmeal - November 18, 2008

4streegrrl
I go to Queen’s! It’s all the way in Kingston~and I was so pleasantly surprised at the food choices myself! I mean, sometimes the stuff looks sketchy, but compared to other places that just serves burgers, the caf we have is like heaven!

Oh wow oatmeal surprise in the morning! I always thought stuff like that was fictional since I’ve never heard of any stories like that šŸ˜› I guess I’ve been lucky so far!

Thanks for visiting! šŸ™‚

12. seeleelive - November 18, 2008

That looks like a yummy breakfast, how’d you put it together….where does the microwave come in handy?!! and how much of each part do you use?

13. oatmeal - November 18, 2008

seeleelive
See comment #5 above for the pancake recipe! šŸ™‚

14. Kristie - November 19, 2008

haha I thought that was some kind of homemade burger thing with mustard at first. I like it better as a pancake though! Mmm. I almost made pancakes for breakfast… now I really wish I did.

The WASHING MACHINE caught on fire…? Weird.

15. Pearl - November 20, 2008

hi there! i found your blog randomly and wanted to say hi šŸ™‚ i love the pictures of the oats! i made some baked oatmeal the other day for my family… it was very cake-like and my fam loved it!

i hope to keep in touch through blogging šŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

