jump to navigation

Oatmeal #127: Almond Milk September 20, 2009

Posted by oatmeal in Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch.
Tags: ,
trackback

[Nooooo firefox quit on me just as I was finishing my post! :evil:]

Yay!!

Monday – first breakfast of the school year!

  • 1/4 cup oatmeal
  • 1 gala apple
  • cinnamon & ground ginger
  • ~1/2 cup water
  • 1/4 cup almond milk ❗

I know this almond milk thing has been going on for a while now, but I’ve been missing out due to my overwhelming unwillingness to spend money! So imagine my joy when I saw that this stuff was on sale for $2.00 a carton at Loblaws!

I bought 4 cartons [2 original, 2 vanilla] and have already finished one! The original one has a milder taste than I expected and the almond flavor isn’t very prominent. But it smells like rice milk and it wasn’t too sweet–so I really like it! The vanilla one was wayyy too sweet to drink by itself, though. But it serves a double function as creme and sweetener in my coffee–so it’s all good! 😀

With the milk:

I think I’ll probably need to add the vanilla flavor if I actually want to taste the milk with the oats~

Going back to Sunday’s lunch:

Quaker’s Tomato & Basil rice cakes, soup, veggies & ground turkey with worcestershire and black pepper

I’m addicted to rice crackers! SO GOOD!

Going forward to Monday!

Whole wheat bread + cheese + chicken breast, banana, peach yogurt & fiber1 cereal.

Not sure if I tried it that day or if it was later in the week, but I ate the banana with my ham & cheese. And it wasn’t gross at all! Although instead of the flavors mixing together in my mouth, the banana flavor stood out by itself and the ham & cheese was by itself–weird!

Dinner:

Ground turkey, baby carrots, corn, black beans, mushrooms, onions with parmesan cheese, and soup on the side.

I like saving the boiled water from my cooking and then adding some chicken bouillon to make soup! Saves me from having to dump the water out at the end!

More food to come! Am so behind on this blogging thing–just like how I’m already behind in my school work! 😥

Comments»

1. verbalriot - September 20, 2009

MMMMM that oatmeal looks fantastic! And I haven’t seen those rice crackers around, but they sound amazing.

Good luck with catching up on school work, I’m right there with ya…


Leave a Reply

