jump to navigation

Oatmeal #130: Bread! November 9, 2009

Posted by oatmeal in Recipes.
Tags: , ,
trackback

Oh what is this, an update 2 days in a row?

Look what I made 2 days ago!

My first loaf of bread everrrr!
This is actually my second attempt at bread baking, but the first time I baked sweet potato buns!

I’m so glad I decided to buy yeast at the grocery store–I think I have enough yeast to last me through the year, which means I never have to buy bread again! And I get to procrastinate bake some more!

This loaf turned out crunchy on the outside, and chewy and soft on the inside. And the smell was nutty and sweet! Too bad I didn’t have a bread pan, because otherwise this could have been sandwich bread!

Whole Wheat Oatmeal Bread
makes 12 thick slices

1 packet sweet & low [or 2 tsp sweetener of choice]
1.75 cup lukewarm water
1 tsp instant yeast
3 cups ww flour
0.75 cup quick oats [or ground rolled oats/oat flour]
0.25 cup flax
0.25 cup wheat germ
0.25 tsp salt

Mix everything together until it forms a dough.
Let sit for about 2 hours.
Fold the dough and let it sit for another hour.
Fold again. Wait another hour.

If you haven’t already, transfer the dough to a baking pan or pour it into a bread pan.
Shape the dough to your liking.

Sprinkle some oats or seeds on top of the loaf if you like. Might be helpful to brush a bit of eggs or water on top to help the toppings stick [I didn’t do that, but I should have!]
Let the dough sit another hour.
Preheat oven to 350F.
Bake for 30-40 minutes.

Ta da!

Comments»

1. VeggieGirl - November 9, 2009

Nice work!

2. verbalriot - November 9, 2009

Homemade bread IS THE BEST! This look so good 🙂

3. LK Sisters - November 9, 2009

Wow, looks delicious, soft and healthy! You seem to have a knack at bread baking!


Leave a Reply

