jump to navigation

Oatmeal 131: Spiced Sweet Potato Bread November 17, 2009

Posted by oatmeal in Recipes.
Tags: , ,
trackback

This is what I do when I have to stay up all night:

Baking, cooking things, and trying not to set off fire alarms!
I’m a volunteer for the Campus Observation Room this year and I had an on-call shift from 12 – 4 a.m. on Saturday night, so instead of using this extra time to study, I dirty up the kitchen counter!

This is my second attempt at sweet potato bread, and I used a modified version of my Oatmeal Bread recipe, subbing sweet potatoes for the wheat germ and flax!

Spiced Sweet Potato Bread – 12 slices
1 packet or 1 tsp sweetener of choice [I used Sweet&Low]
1.5 cup lukewarm water
1.0 tsp instant yeast
3 cups ww flour
0.75 cup quick oats
1 medium sweet potato, mashed
0.25 tsp salt
1 tsp ground ginger [I used 0.75 tsp–but the flavor doesn’t show up much with this amount!]
1 tbsp flax for sprinkling

About half an hour before, microwave or cook the sweet potato. I nuked it for 4 minutes, then cubed it.
Once the potato has cooled, mix all ingredients together, except the flax.

Let sit for 1 hour.

Fold dough after 1 hour.
Shape dough and put into bread pan or baking pan. Brush top of the dough with water or milk and sprinkle flax on top.

Let sit for 3-4 hours. [I let it sit for 2 hours, but the addition of sweet potatoes seem to slow the yeast down, so I’d recommend letting it sit longer]

Preheat oven to 350F.
Bake 20-30 minutes.

Yay! I actually got more servings this time because I waited longer before baking. Next time I’m going to wait even longer before popping into the oven!

The bread was slightly sweet and has a chewy center, and crunchy crust! Definitely a bread that tastes good after a good toasting. I think next time I’m going to add more ginger, ’cause I could barely taste it.

School semester is almost over! 2 weeks left! 5 weeks and 6 days til I get to go home!

Comments»

1. Natalie - December 9, 2009

Just made this, made some muffins and a loaf. Also added a bit of cinnamon and all spice! It’s marvellous, thank’s so much for the recipe.

oatmeal - December 10, 2009

Hi Natalie! Glad the recipe worked out for you! 😀 Good call on adding the cinnamon!

2. Leng - December 22, 2009

This bread looks superlicious!

3. Amy - January 26, 2010

This is such an awesome idea! I must try it… I could really use a serious carb coma in the near future… yummm

oatmeal - February 3, 2010

Haha carb coma is a great way to put it!
Hope the recipe works out if you do decide to try it!


Leave a Reply

