jump to navigation

Oatmeal #132: Veggie Muffins I December 2, 2009

Posted by oatmeal in Lunch, Recipes.
Tags: , , ,
trackback

I’ve been craving muffins as a meal lately, and I love veggie muffins, so I thought I’d make some! It’s always nice when you can make fun foods into something that’s also nutritious 😀

And since I’ve been staying up so often to run sessions at the lab, motivation to make healthy things is pretty much non-existent, so it’s nice to just throw a frozen muffin into a toaster and serve with yogurt and fruit for a quick lunch! [Lunch because making oatmeal for breakfast is never too much effort! :mrgreen: ] Besides, I can’t scarf salads down on a daily basis–vegetables are always more fun in muffins and pastas!

Oh yeah, this recipe is based on all the Morning Glory Muffins I’ve seen around the net! But I don’t have pineapples or anything like that and I wanted to add oatmeal so I ended up with my own version.

Carrot Coconut Goji Oat Muffins
makes 6 huge muffins

1 cup whole wheat flour
0.5 cup quick oats
1 tbsp each of wheat germ & flax
2 tbsp ground pecans or other nuts [optional]
1 tsp baking powder
1 tsp baking soda
0.5 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp ginger
1 packet sweet & low [or sub 1 tbsp sweetener of choice]
0.25 cup brown sugar or sweetener of choice
1 egg
1 tbsp EVOO
0.5 cup milk
~1 cup grated bb carrots
0.5 cup goji berries, soaked in milk
0.25 cup unsweetened coconut

Mix everything and let sit for 3-4 hours.
Bake at 350F for 20-25 mins

It is awesome stuff. Best when it’s heated and served with plain yogurt! I’m planning to bake another variety using zucchini tomorrow morning when I get back from lab! So! Excited! Maybe I’ll bake some coffee muffins for next semester so I can be wired for more overnight sessions at the lab! Whoo! MUFFINSSSS!

And on a side note–2 weeks and 5 days til winter vacation!

Comments»

1. Rose - December 2, 2009

Saving. Most definitely saving.


Leave a Reply

